SVDN Youth Hockey Gala Dinner (2017.05.30)

Sioux Valley Dakota Nation has historically supported our youth who choose to live healthy productive lives in sports. Sioux Valley has had a long tradition of producing exceptional athletes and tremendous hockey players. In recent years, we have had an phenomenal group of young hockey players pick up the mantle and continue to carry it forward, playing for multiple teams throughout Manitoba, across Canada and even in the United States, winning multiple awards and championships. On the evening of May 30th, 2017, Sioux Valley Dakota Nation held an “Honoring our Youth Hockey Athletes Gala Dinner”. Pierre McKay was the MC for this evening’s event, with Chief Vince Tacan addressing the youth hockey players and parents. He spoke of how proud Sioux Valley is of all our youth athletes and how we appreciate the amount of dedication it takes for not only the youth to compete, but also the dedication it takes on the part of the parents and family to support their youth in their athletic endeavor. After dinner, keynote Zach Whitecloud took to the podium and addressed the youth about the type of dedication it takes to be a successful hockey player. He expressed how important education was, and to appreciate the support of your family, friends and community. He shared some of his favorite stories of his success and how proud he is to represent not only his family, but to be a representative for Sioux Valley Dakota Nation and in often times for all Aboriginal people. After addressing the youth, he assisted in handing out plaques for each of our youth hockey players.

On this evening, Sioux Valley honored:

  • Knox Pratt
  • Tylan bone
  • Rhys Easton Rosmus (SUNKTOKECA DUTA)
  • Rynan Taylor
  • Ethan Tacan
  • Nash Ironman
  • Avery Kejick
  • Joaquin Bone
  • Sage Hall-Vermette
  • Jeremiah Jacques
  • Ashton Wanbdiska
  • Theo Pratt
  • Ryland Taylor
  • Bryson Wanbdiska
  • Jordan Whitecloud
  • Landon Hall
  • Jackson Jacques
  • Marcus Whitecloud
  • Gabriel Wanbdiska
  • Tristan McKay
  • Monet Mazawasicuna
  • McKenna Wombdiska
  • Ryan Taylor