Sioux Valley Dakota Nation – Self Government MOU Signing (2019.07.10)

On July 9, 2019, a MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING was signed between Déline Got’ine Government, Shíshálh Nation, Sioux Valley Dakota Nation and Westbank First Nation, in Edmonton, Alberta.

This is the first time in history that Dakota, Dene, Sylix and Shíshálh Nations have signed an agreement to formally align their respective Nations.  These Nations are the only stand-alone Self Government Indigenous Nations (SGIG’s) in Canada.

Photo Courtesy of Cochrane Saxberg Johnson Johnson & Scarello LLP

This is a historic and significant commitment to come together through an MOU to support our individual nations being as successful as they can be in self-government and to ensure Canada supports us in our implementation endeavours.

Chief Jennifer Bone presented star quilts to Chief Roxanne Lindley from Westbank First Nation, Chief Warren Paull from Sechelt First Nation and Chief Leeroy Andre from Deline Got’ine First Nation.  

On July 10, 2019, the Self Governing Indigenous Nations (SGIG’s) met with Ross Pattee, Assistant Deputy Minister, CIRNA Implementation Branch and the federal team regarding the Implementation Policy.  ADM Pattee has agreed to work with the Nations as an alliance.  

Sioux Valley Dakota Nation will continue to work to strengthen our Self Government Agreement.